Skip to content

ALEPSCoR Announces Round 16 Awardees

In May of 2021, the Alabama EPSCoR Steering Committee met virtually to decide the new awardees for the round 16 Graduate Research Scholars Program!

Round Sixteen had 73 applications, 36 were awarded. Funding for the nineteen renewing and seventeen new awardees will begin in the fall semester of 2021. These recipients are conducting research funded by EPSCoR (Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) programs at the National Science Foundation, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science.

Of the thirtyeight students, thirty-four (34) are pursuing a PhD while two (2) are working towards a Master’s. Students are selected competitively by a team consisting of one campus coordinator from each of the PhD granting institutions in the ALEPSCoR Program. Renewals are granted each year subject to satisfactory progress in a given year and available funding. The goal of the ALEPSCoR GRSP is to invest in Alabama universities to expand research output and attract eminent senior faculty and quality graduate students. The program’s objective is to provide a highly trained workforce to fuel the growth of high technology companies in Alabama.

Let’s congratulate the 36 Awardees!

First Name Last Name
Adam Pfiefle
Amber Kinnebrew
Andricus Burton
Ayodeji Ipinmoroti
Azizi Turner
Bibek Dhami
Brennetta Crenshaw
Erin-Nicole Scott
Guimu Guo
Irene Sanchez-Gonzalez
Jeffrey DeMeis
Jialing Shen
John Schoelz
Jon Hastings
Jubaer Alam
Kallol Chakrabarty
Lam Duong
Larissa Lagria
Lyndon Smith
Md Raquibuzzaman
Md Raiful Hasan
Mersaydes Goodson
Muntaseer Bunian
Nabil Hoque
Palwai Sharvare
Pavithra Srinivas
Polina Bombina
Richard Harry
Sajid Ahmed
Shelby Critcher
Sungyoon Kim
Suresh Thapa
Taiaba Afrin
Tanzeela Mitha
Wenqi Cao
William Oswald

Learn more about the GRSP Program here.

Back To Top