Skip to content

NSF EPSCoR (RII-3) | $15M Research Infrastructure Improvement Cooperative Agreement

Alabama EPSCoR was awarded a $15M NSF Research Infrastructure Improvement Cooperative Agreement from September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2014 entitled, “Enhancing Alabama’s Research Capacity in Nano/ Bio Science and Sensors.” This award provides funding to ALEPSCoR research institutions across the state for developing Alabama high technology research capability. Those research institutions are: Alabama A&M University (AAMU), Auburn University (AU), Tuskegee University (TU), University of Alabama (UA), University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), University of Alabama at Huntsville (UAH), and the University of South Alabama (USA). The high technology research capabilities being developed are: (i) the Nano and Biomaterials Research Thrust (led by TU, with USA, AU, UAB, UA, AAMU) is developing new nanostructured materials with enhanced thermal, physical, mechanical, and biodegradable properties; (ii) theBiotechnology Research Thrust (led by AU, with AAMU, TU, UAB) is developing model biosystems to facilitate the development of nanomaterials and nanoscale devices; (iii) the Optics and Sensors Research Thrust (led by UAB with UA) is developing new optical and molecular sensing technologies for applications in environmental monitoring, counter-terrorism, industrial process control, and medical diagnosis; (iv) the Nanofabrication Research Thrust (led by AAMU, with UAB, UA, UAH, TU) is applying cutting-edge nanoengineering to develop molecular sensors, regimented nanomaterials and nanostructures with applications in chemical, biological, and thermo-electric devices.

Back To Top