$750,000 DOE EPSCoR Grant Goes to…

A principal research scientist in The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH) Center for Space Plasma and Aeronomic Research (CSPAR) has been awarded a $750,000 grant from the United States Department of Energy (DOE) Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) for low temperature plasma (LTP). This scientist is Dr. Vladimir Kolobov who has been a co-director of the National Science Foundation EPSCoR project “CPU2AL: Connecting the Plasma Universe to Plasma Technology in Alabama,” which is led by Dr. Gary Zank, CSPAR director and the Aerojet Rocketdyne chair of the UAH Department of Space Science.

Please check out the University of Alabama at Huntsville’s amazing article on their work…  https://www.uah.edu/news/items/uah-scientist-lands-750000-doe-epscor-grant-for-low-temperature-plasma-research

Scholarship Announcement!

Scholarship and Free Conference Information! (Not ALEPSCoR related)

This year’s Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA) annual conference will be a virtual event on October 26, 2019 – October 28, 2020


SEAFWA’s [minrc.org]Minorities in Natural Resources Conservation subcommittee (MINRC) invites interested female and minority college students pursuing a career in conservation to apply for MINRC scholarships to attend this year’s SEAFWA Conference for free. Scholarship winners will participate in the MINRC Student Workshop which introduces soft skills such as networking, elevator speeches, resume writing, etc. Students will also participate in a Careers in Conservation panel and an agency round table where they will gain insight on employment opportunities and network with professionals from SEAFWA’s sixteen member states, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, and attending federal agencies.


ALEPSCOR Gives Presentation at EDAA

In January 2020, Alabama EPSCoR participated in the January 2020 Economic Development Association of Alabama (EDAA) meeting to give a presentation on “University Research as an Economic Driver”. Presenters included:  Dr. Chris Lawson, Alabama EPSCoR, Dr. Mike Chambers,  Associate Vice President of Research as the University of South Alabama; Dr. Karim Budhwani,  CEO of CerFlux and former GRSP recipient; Dr. Steve Pelham, Associate Vice President for Economic Development, Auburn University. We also had a booth to demonstrate our updated research capability map!

DEPSCOR Grant Announced!

New DEPSCOR Grant Announcement! Check it out!

For the fiscal year 2020, Defense Epscor has announced the eligibility list and available awards! Click the link to get more information!


“As part of the FY20 defense appropriations bill, Congress tasked the Basic Research Office with managing the Defense Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (DEPSCoR). DEPSCoR is a capacity building program that is designed to strengthen the research infrastructure at institutions of higher education in underutilized States/Territories. In order to achieve its congressional mandate, the Basic Research Office developed three major thrusts for DEPSCoR – 1) augment funding to an existing tri-Service program, 2) solicit applications for a stand-alone collaborative competition, and 3) outreach meetings.”

DOE Kickoff

On January 9th, ALEPSCoR came out to witness the Department of Energy Kickoff! It was an amazing experience to see students and faculty come together and collaborate on ideas to better the world!

The agenda consisted of project discussions as well as poster sessions to hear from the students directly about the work and research they’ve been doing.

Karolina Mukhtar with Kelvin Droegemeier (White House Office of Science and Tech Policy) PECASE Award (2)

Dr. Karolina Mukhtar Receives Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Dr. Karolina Mukhtar, Associate Professor in the UAB Department of Biology was recognized as a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in July 2019.  PECASE is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. Government to outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent research careers and who show exceptional promise for leadership in science and technology. 

Dr. Karim Budhwani, a former GRSP recipient and CEO of CerFlux, competed in the Economic Development Partnership of Alabama’s (EDPA) Launchpad Competition

UA @ birmingham

Join us for NSF Day at the University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham are pleased to invite you to participate in our upcoming NSF Day to be held at the University of Alabama at Birmingham Hill Student Center 1400 University Blvd. Birmingham, Alabama 35233. Breakfast, snacks and catered lunch will be included.


Statewide Partnership Secures $20 Million Grant from NSF EPSCoR

Owing to the efforts of Dr. Gary Zank, the PI for the funded research titled CPU2AL, and the collaborative efforts of ALEPSCoR, the co-principal investigators, and the institutional leads, Alabama is one of five states awarded an RII Track-1 award this coming year.